Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

On The Nature Of Warframes And The Tenno (Ooc Discussion)

GholaNamedHayt

This isn't directly tied to RP, but this seemed the best place to put a lore discussion thread (correct me if I'm wrong). It's something I've been thinking about for quite a while, but I'm rather new to the lore, so I want some other opinions as other people likely know more than I do.

Basically I'm curious if, in canon, warframes represent specific individuals (as in there is only one Loki, one Oberon, etc.) or if they are just styles of armor and abilities and there might be numerous excalibur-class tenno. Personally, from a purely canonical point of view, I get the impression they are specific individuals.

Somewhere it's been mentioned that the design team has concept art and the like for what each warframe looks like without the frame, which gives the impression these are specific individuals. Furthermore, the fact that the warframes don't come in both male and female and are either one or the other seems to support this idea, but that's just what I've got so far.

What are your thoughts on the matter?

This would actually go into the Fan Zone section. 

There isn't enough knowledge of the frame's to accurately support either theory. The developers support monotenno'city'. The creation of Valkyr suggests she is her own self, unless of course, the frames are actually alive themselves.

I do not believe the concept artists have ever brought about Tenno without their suits (besides rescue targets/cryopods). Their are a lot of fan-made art, however.

It can go any way. There is a gargantuan group of players believing there is only one of each Tenno, whereas there is an equally gargantuan group of players believing there are millions of Tenno and by extension multiple Warframes.