Koumei & the Five Fates: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Is it legal to 'give away' coupons?

Happy_Zephyr

Question

I recently got a -75% off next platinum purchase, but I don't plan on using it. I usually play with an IRL friend, who desperately needs the platinum. Would it be legal if he paid for the platinum and then I would trade it all to him? 

It kind of sounds like trading plat for items outside the game, which I know is illegal, but at the same time, I'm not actually gaining anything from it. I also know trading a large amount of plat for something like ammo drum would probably raise some red flags on DE's end, and obviously neither of us want each other to get banned.

9 answers to this question

I'm no expert, but as long as you're not trading plat for items outside of the game, if you were it would be somewhere along the lines of you selling him the plat purchase. If you profited off of something like that in-game with real life currency, I think you'd be in trouble. But as long as there is a legal transaction, where they get the money and you get the plat, then you can do whatever you want with the platinum. I am unaware if there is anything specifically against that but just be cautious.

14 minutes ago, Rikyrro said:

I recently got a -75% off next platinum purchase, but I don't plan on using it. I usually play with an IRL friend, who desperately needs the platinum. Would it be legal if he paid for the platinum and then I would trade it all to him? 

It kind of sounds like trading plat for items outside the game, which I know is illegal, but at the same time, I'm not actually gaining anything from it. I also know trading a large amount of plat for something like ammo drum would probably raise some red flags on DE's end, and obviously neither of us want each other to get banned.

As to "illegal", I think it technically is. It may be safer to buy the plat yourself, trade it, and then have your friend reimburse you? I don't really know.