The Lotus Eaters: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Diary Of A Heartbroken Tenno

Gigatron-Prime

Those trailers sure seem awesome with that cool team synergy and Rhino bashing stuff and Trinity Orthosing everything. However, once I'm in game its just another shooter. Im not sure if I should be angry or cry. Or both. Ninjas play free? Stealth is non existent. Melee is far inferior to a gun. Overall this game is just another shooter with the guise of something different. 

What is this post about? Well, as a longtime player and a new PS4 player with my friends, I've just come to realize that a lot of the things we've accepted are just so erroneous.

When my friend asks me about stealth I shrug and say "All you'll need is your gun dude. This isn't like the trailer at all." Instantly I die inside and feel bad. I remember that same kind of naivite I once had when I was a newb. She promptly charges ahead, sword raised to block enemy fire like she's led to believe in that epic Vor trailer (We all remember which). Again, I am torn inside as I watch my friend get blown away. I walk up with my Loki blasting everything in the face with my Braton. "Thanks", she says. 

"No prob. The blocking in this game doesn't really do anything. Just use your gun."

"How do I roll?" She asks. I check the menu to be sure. "Press R1 I think."

Up ahead we run into a platoon of Grineer. I take aim and watch as my friend charges ahead again. "Wait!" I yell.

She tries to do some fancy evasive moves in between the enemy as she tries to slice everything with her Skana. A Shield Lancer rushes her. Instinctively she raises her sword to block but is blown back. Swarmed and surrounded, she falls again.

"Listen, if you want to get through this mission just use the gun for Christ's sake."

I see a tear roll down her eye. She looks at me.

"I just thought-I thought this game was different." I look away ashamed. "I know."

Pressing the PS button, she picks Killzone from the menu.