Koumei & the Five Fates: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Are Wow-Style Mmo Games Becoming Outdated?

TheErebus.

The developer of H1Z1 certainly things so: http://www.gamespot.com/articles/the-days-of-the-wow-style-mmo-are-over-h1z1-boss-s/1100-6426943/

He believes that the days of WoW-style MMO games are numbered, and that soon it will be over.

What do you guys think? Do you agree or disagree with him?

Personally, I don't care. I'm not into MMOs (except for Global Agenda, that was a cool game).

Erebus, are you porting various threads/discussions/articles from Kotaku/RockPaperShotgun/PCGamer on the Warframe forums?

I don't think we were hiring an anchorman.

I've been doing this for the past 2 months.

I bring gaming news about other topics into the forums to keep some people up to date or to see new games they'd be interested in.

my bets are theyre dying, since the wow-style mmos were built on a premise that the player's interaction could be nuanced by LAG, they built it so that when lagging and/or rather the theme of 1995s to 2010 is that you press buttons on a bit lesser scale than action packed gameplay. and now well, as time goes, internet goes faster and faster, and well, PCs/consoles becoming stronger in ways that could initiate more interaction by player to character/ by player to player. 

I bring gaming news about other topics into the forums to keep some people up to date or to see new games they'd be interested in.

I know but, sorry. o_o

Well, with a lot of MMOs unique in their own way in the past years (IE Guild Wars 2, Skyforge, Black Desert Online, whatever) The WoW copies are kind of already dead.

Something interesting from Fevir I found a few weeks ago. ^_^

Edited by -CM-Tiffany

I, for one, think you're doing a beautiful thing. I don't like to go outside to start with, but now you make my life simpler ensuring that I only need one website to keep up.

Also, on topic, I think we're better off without 'em.