Koumei & the Five Fates: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Warframe took inspirations from Mass Effect's health HUDs?

EZIOilMentore

This question has been lingering in my head since the first day I started playing back in early 2015.

Wondering if I'm the only one to notice this. The color scheme used for Warframe's hit-point HUDs bear uncanny resemblance to that of Mass Effect 2 and 3. I don't include Mass Effect 1 here because from what I can remember, the designs were quite different.

Did DE actually take inspirations from Mass Effect when designing these color schemes? It would be pretty cool if that was the case.

I have to admit, I have some doubts about this. Some of you may think this suggestion is too bold. I'm not entirely sure if this is a consistent design choice among several other sci-fi games. Just here to compare notes with y'all. I'm most familiar with Mass Effect... and Warframe. Love 'em both. Except for Andromeda.

Comparison between the HUD color schemes of both titles are as followed:

-Warframe uses RED bars to indicate regular health type, same goes for Mass Effect. A nobrainer, just to get that out of the way.

-Warframe uses BLUE bars to indicate shields, same goes for Mass Effect. In both games, shields can regenerate, although I'm not sure whether or not enemy shields in the Mass Effect games do regenerate... it's been a while since I played.

shields1.png

-Warframe uses YELLOW bars to indicate armor, same goes for Mass Effect.

armor.png

-Warframe uses PURPLE to indicate overshield. In Mass Effect, it is called barrier. Despite the differences in names, both function the same way. They are a type of shield used for buffing, and cannot regenerate on its own.

barrier.png

Edited by EZIOilMentore

1 hour ago, EZIOilMentore said: