Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

A Terrifying Infested Revamp, A Common Enemy Of All Enemies

SgtFlex

So, judging by the title, you know where im headed. I played Warframe when I came across it a long time ago, and I remember when I started playing the game, one of my first missions involved me encountering the infested. I... am a complete wimp when it comes to seeing something malformed, or a body that has been taken over, from my past experiences when I first encountered the necromorphs in DeadSpace or the Flood in Halo. Anyways, I continued wandering throughout the mission in warframe, only to encounter a charger. I wasn't terrified at all, unfortuantely, I just though "Oh, a generic melee enemy". I don't know WHY it didn't horrify me, I simply didn't...

Years later, and we've got new tilesets, new infested enemies on their way (at least 3 or so), and new sounds, but one thing has bugged me... The old enemies should probably get a Art revamp. They're just don't fit with the infested vibe that most games have potrayed. They stick this mushy crap around ships and people just transform. I was thinking, why not give players a reason to hate them. Surely something in the universe that causes most enemies to ally with each other must be horrifying, but at the moment, it's not really.

Im going to try to delve into the reason why, and how perhaps the models on these enemies can be better redone, and not to necessarily make this some type of horror game, but give us enemies that we may fear to encounter in hordes.

OUR CURRENT ENEMIES

Currently, one of the big reasons im not really terrified is because of how often the same models are re-used for different enemies and they just have abnormally colored skins. It just doesn't feel right. WE NEED VARIETY. Here, I'll show ya, these are all different enemies.

250px-ChargerDE.png

250px-CrawlerDE.png250px-NauseousCrawlerDE.png250px-ToxicCrawlerDE.png250px-DEElectricCrawler.png250px-GrenadeAvatar.png