Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Warframe's enormous colorblind-spot in UI design

Durin_Mankiller

Ok. I will try to be concise, but this is no simple subject. It's about the fact that I am red/green colorblind.

Now, I'm pretty new to the game and I may certainly have missed it buried somewhere in the options, (which it should never be) but as far as I can tell, there is no UI or game customization options that will allow someone like me to not go freaking insane trying to play this awesome game.

Worse, judging by the overall UI and art design decisions made in the game, not a single thought was given to people like me, so it would not surprise me in the least that there would be no "colorblind mode" or UI color customization options that would allow us to just handle the issue ourselves and hobble along.

This is a huge problem.

If you are even mildly colorblind, this game is a pastel hell. Dark-red, yellow and light-green navigation markers? For real? Have the developers even met a colorblind person before? Do you even realize we exist? I do not mean to be harsh in this, but recent studies have shown that up to roughly 20% of the population is probably affected by some form or degree of color-deficiency. Most without even ever knowing it until or unless they are tested for things like jobs and professions they may have studied years for, but suddenly find they will never be allowed to do.

We're talking about a pretty huge chunk of the potential player-base here. I often wonder how many people who left the game because they found it to be 'too hard' or 'confusing' only found it to be that way because they didn't know they were color-deficient, rendering them unable to even recognize the problems for what they are.