Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Motivating Players: Closed Beta To Now

Whatarewordsworth

There's a lot of talk in the general discussion forums about the changes coming to skills in WF, and this makes me think about something only tangentially related; namely, what motivates the player to keep playing.

The major point of this post is to seek feedback from early beta veterans like myself in order to see if my feelings about this game are purely my own or if they are shared. That said, I also want to hear from newer players about their initial and subsequent feelings on why they play. What were their motivations for playing? Did they change? If so, how? For better? For worse? Let us know!

Just for a frame of reference, I started playing Warframe back when we had the skill tree progression system (that was forever ago). I remember picking up on the lore of the game in a way that made me feel like I and the choices I made were important. For example, the skill tree system had consequences for the player that the current system doesn't have, and this made customization a deeply personal and rather heavy choice - it made you feel invested in your frame as though it were an avatar of yourself. And in the game, as in life, going back on choices wasn't easy - to change the skill tree you had to pay credits and they were rare back then.