Koumei & the Five Fates: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

K-Drive Way Too Onerous

thurmack

Apologies if this is in the wrong thread - I am fairly new to the game. Please feel free to move it if it belongs elsewhere.

Speaking as a new player, I would like to share my experience with the k-drive.

First of all, it is nice to be able to move around Orb Vallis and the Plains faster. It's almost essential, honestly, as walking the open realms takes ages.
So I'm glad there's an option, but I have a two concerns:

MR-Gated Archwings
Everyone MR5+ uses an Archwing, so in shared missions a new player is basically just following behind even with a K-Drive. MR-gating Archwing use in the open realms seems like a strange decision, since the consequence is just the alienation of low MR players.

Getting a mod-able K-Drive takes an insane amount of effort, much of it repetitive and unrewarding
You start with a K-Drive that cannot be modded, and doesn't gain affinity. That means for the majority of these efforts you are earning nothing but Standing which you must spend on the new K-Board pieces.
To buy the four pieces you need 20,000 standing. On a fully charged jump with 3-4 tricks I gain about 100 affinity on average (sometimes up to 200, but often a bit less if a jump is cut short or I land hard and lose all my points). That's 25 standing for the ventkids.
That's 800 jumps. That's well over five hours of literally doing nothing but jumping back and forth, and realistically most players are just going to jump while they're exploring the region (which slows down transit). 
There are ways to get bigger point awards (like the long pipe near Fortuna), but they take longer and are consequently only slightly more efficient. Running the pipe I was able to get my last 5k in just under an hour. But it was a boring tedious hour, and that was just for one quarter of the standing.