Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Is Chromatic Blade really worth it?

BahamutKaiser

Question

So this might sound stupid from a Rank L1, but I was wondering if there is a way to make Exalted Blade competitive with Chromatic Blade, at end game. Chromatic Blade increases status chance and adds an element to the weapon, but it removes IPS from the weapon and cost you a mod slot.

Currently I'm trying Arcane Avenger and Strike, with Primary and Secondary Dexterity, and Naramon school, all schools maxed and unbound. I also have a magnetic nukor set to viral heat along with it's native radiation... I also have the three gladiator mods on my normal weapon and Xata's Whisper for another status.

I've been using Chromatic Blade with Corrosive Cold since before I can remember, like right when I started playing. But this far in, I'm wondering if having that last slot on my Warframe has more value than 80% status chance and 30% more elemental damage... I'm even wondering if I can get away with removing Condition Overload from the weapon, since I'm not removing the umbral polarities and mods from the weapon, and I could instead have another modifier like Shattering Impact to increase diversity.

That last part seems unlikely, but I figured if I have regular Exalted Blade with CO and save the Warframe slot, I can always prime my targets with Kuva Nukor if they don't want to bow down instantly...

Wat Dew?

19 answers to this question

44 minutes ago, BahamutKaiser said:

I'm probably overthinking it though...

generally, yes. both with and without can be competent enough to Kill Enemies that you're going to face on a regular basis.
between IPS weighting being reduced and the mechanics of Damage, Chromatic Blade is leagues ahead of not. but if you don't need or want to use Excalibur in ""endgame""" content or Endurance Missions, then you won't even really notice the difference, and you can do whatever you want.