Koumei & the Five Fates: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Telos Boltace + Blood Rush + Maiming Strike

bashedpotato

Question

Hi,

Im a newbie. I just bought Telos Boltace. I'm having a dilemma if Blood Rush is still needed while Maiming Strike is already equipped.

Blood Rush 135% critical chance

Maiming Strike 90% chance on slide slash. 

I just thought maybe I can replace Blood Rush with a different mod that would make sense.

I checked Boltace builds and it seems that most builds are equipped with both mods mentioned above. So I'm confused. Can someone explain in detail what Blood Rush is really for? It clearly says it gives 135% critical chance. What does that even mean? 100% means you'll hit critical damage in every hit, and Maiming Strike's 90% isn't bad at all. why would you need more than 100%. Even the wiki page didn't give any helpful info. . There must be something that I am overseeing.

Thanks.

Edited by bashedpotato

19 answers to this question

It somewhat depends on the scenario you want to use it it.

Obviously the weapon and its build focus on slide attacks or "Spin2Win", making Maiming Strike an almost mandatory choice.
However, the weapon's potential can be increased with Blood Rush / Body Count

But keep in mind, that those require a very sustain stream of enemies in order to actually reach their full damage potential, which can be rough in non-endless missions or in a very kill-happy squad.
(even having to compete against another Telos Boltace can be critical at this point)

I would not recommend to use Blood Rush without Body Count or Drifting Contact, since the combo multiplier simply won't stay long enough to have a significant effect.

As for elementals, a lot of players go for Gas and some sort of invisibility, but a short range / long duration savage Banshee works fine too.
Alternatively, you can try and go for full base damage and slash without any elementals and, of course, the crit mods.

I hope I could help you.