Koumei & the Five Fates: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Noob in search of answers

(PSN)LuckyManChild

Question

Hey, first off shout out to Digital Extremes, supporting London's economy and setting up shop in my hometown.

Second. I started playing Warframe last weekend, a friend referred me to it and like I said, Digital Extremes is in my hometown. I'm thoroughly enjoying it. I have some questions though.

1) I made a Volt. Is that a good character. Should I be looking to upgrade my frame?

2) I have a Paris bow, Kunai, and the Bo staff. Should I worry about upgrading them? Are guns inherently better? I understand the way the mod system works and I have been keeping them up, I'm just curious if I'd find it easier with a set of guns or a sword.

3) Is it worthwhile to purchase platinum? As in, am I able to farm it myself? Would my money be better spent some place else? I've made it to Mercury and found a Paris Prime recipe and a Paris Prime part. I've hit the market and seen what prices things fetch. If I have those 2, how close would I be to say 100p? I'm trying to get a grasp on Warframe's economy.

Thanks in advance, any players nearby, hit me up on the PSN, LuckyManChild.

16 answers to this question

1) If you enjoy Volt, upgrade it. You can build, collect, and use (just about) every frame as long as you buy extra warframe slots, but always deck out what you enjoy to play.

2) While some weapons are considered "meta", and some are inherently superior (Paris Prime > Paris, for example), experiment. While some weapons may be inherently weaker overall, upgrading through Forma and catalysts can make any weapon worthwhile to some extent. But if you upgrade now and find an overall better weapon later, be prepared for a fresh grind. A little research on the wiki goes a long way.