Koumei & the Five Fates: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

I don’t understand mission levels

AnnoyedArkham

Question

Yes; I’m basically a huge noob. But please, someone, explain this to me. I know master rank is used to unlock gear, and I know that no single piece of gear can go beyond level 30. So, what does, for example, a mission listing level 40~45 mean? Is that the composite level of all my stuff? Some sort of average? Or is there a hidden level I don’t know how to see? I just find it strange for the game to list mission levels like they are important, but not actually provide a way to compare yourself against that level to estimate difficulty.

6 answers to this question

Enemies start at that level, their level affects their health and damage they can do, they also slowly increase in level as the mission progresses. Totally irrelevant to your own mastery rank or weapon levels

• Like 2

33 minutes ago, AnnoyedArkham said:

I know master rank is used to unlock gear, and I know that no single piece of gear can go beyond level 30. So, what does, for example, a mission listing level 40~45 mean? Is that the composite level of all my stuff?

You are mixing terms. Rank and Level.

Weapons/frames/companions have ranks. Enemies have levels.

Item rank dictates the amount of capacity you have to equip mods. Item power depends on the mods you use and the base stats of the item. Higher rank does nothinng for the item if you do not capitalise on the additionnal capacity by equipping better (higher ranked) mods. 

Enemy level dictates its scaling. Higher level enemieis deal more damage and are harder to kill.

Is that the composite level of all my stuff?

There is no item level or gearscore stat for players. Not that kind of game.

I just find it strange for the game to list mission levels like they are important, but not actually provide a way to compare yourself against that level to estimate difficulty.