Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

(PS4) New player, having trouble with controls!

(PSN)Svcredly

Question

Hey there!

I started playing Warframe very recently and for the most part it’s not impossible to wrap your mind around things and figure things out. However I’m having issues with switching abilities on my tenno. I’d like to be able to use all 4 abilities, not just the second. Yes, the Warframe is up to level 10. So it has unlocked all abilities. I just can’t figure out how to switch between/use all of them with the PS4 controller. Would really appreciate an explanation. I’ve googled and youtubed the topic and it seems to me i’m the only one dense enough to not be able to figure out!

Tysm for all and any help!

8 answers to this question

Just to quickly clear up some things, your warframe is different than your Tenno. Your Tenno would be a general description to your race/species/whatever. Your frame is the character you select (Excalibur/Mag/Volt/etc). Then there's the abilities, I assume you mean by "switch" that you are trying to activate the abilities, correct?

What frame are you using?

Then, as for controls, allow me to briefly explain. In general you can either use the touchpad for abilities by doing a swap up (1st ability), down (2nd), left (3rd) or right (4th). Or you can use R1 + X (1st), R1 + Square (2nd), R1 + O (3rd) and R1 + Triangle (4th).

Bear in mind, however, that some abilities are just "press to cast", some need to be held, some have a "press to select, hold to trigger" mechanic, some need you to be aiming at an enemy, etc. I personally advise that you get used to the R1 + "button" way since the touchpad doesn't work with held abilities, and it can be quite confusing to change afterwards.