Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

The Absentee Meta

Seele

It feels a bit ridiculous to talk about metagaming in a strictly* PVE game like Warframe, but a lot of the more recent... strategies that have cropped up have definitely changed the game, and not for the better.

I started playing in 2013, where you got your choice of Excalibur, Volt, or Loki, a Mk-1 Braton, a Lato, and a Skana. Once I had truly come into endgame content, such content was Tower 4 Void, which housed the biggest baddie in the game, Corrupted Vor. Vor was close to unbeatable unless your team was a firing squad of Boltor Primes, in which case he was dismantled in seconds. Tower 4 Survival could be cheesed into infinity with a properly modded Trinity, who at the time could make the whole team invincible forever.

Those times are, clearly, gone. Trinity is no longer the monster she was, defensively (infinite invincibility) or offensively (Link + rocket your feet). Boltor Prime is very far from the best gun now, while at the time nothing could even pretend to compete with it. New mods and new weapons have diversified the primary weapon slot, for which I am grateful. There can actually be arguments and preferences about "The Best" gun, which is a very good thing.