Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

The Archwing "Problem"

Kiradien

In the Devstream, they spoke of fixing Archwing, but they also didn't have a clear direction on how to fix it - the trouble is, from my point of view Archwing is close to being "right", but a partial fix could just make things worse.

As someone who once enjoyed Archwing, and enjoys 6DOF games, I want to offer my opinion, and potentially spark a conversation regarding this and its issues.

HUD

Below I will include potential previews of what I mean - I am no artist, and I'd have better luck actually breaking into the games UI to put it in than photoshopping it, but Warframe doesn't allow 3rd party UI mods, so bare with me. Colours were chosen to make the elements stand out as an example, not to look good.

Relative Vertical Orientation indicator - the biggest issue with Archwing 6DoF is that the high pace causes people to lose track of their orientation. This disorientation has a tendency to make people sick, and we need something to orient ourselves to. Simply knowing our relative vertical Orientation at all times would cut down our perspective - though space has no "up" or "down" persay, we do start with one orientation.

A simple example would be either an unobtrusive arrow around the crosshair, or a horizon line. Both options can be seen in these pictures working in conjunction:

Orientation1 Orientation2

3 Dimensional Map/Map Z-Axis rotation - In an ideal world, a 3D map would be an ultimate solution, but the development cost of that could be quite prohibitive. If instead, our 2D map could collapse and reverse on the Z-Axis depending on our orientation, it could allow us to maintain directional consistency between the Map and the game world regardless of our orientation. Perfecting this could be extremely difficult, and may not help as much as other alternatives, however it could help in some cases, especially for players with Fixed Map Rotation.