Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

With so many Engine upgrades, shouldn't we start moving away from hit-scan?

Revenant0713

So I've been playing WF on and off since 2013. And for the most part, we've used hit-scan systems for firearms. And I can see the advantages. Hit-scan in general places less load on the system than projectile weaponry. And it's easier to get into than projectile. But I feel like we have to start moving away from hit-scan weapons. I'd like to justify the reasons why.

First, let's address the idea that projectile trajectory calculation takes up more resources than hitscan. The concern would be that 4 players surrounded by hundreds of grineer firing at you would demand a lot more from your computer if they all had to calculate projectile arc and flight time. To this I'd like to point out that I mean Battlefield 2's Refractor engine did projectile physics in 2005, and we know Evolution Engine is more powerful than that. We also know that the game in its current state can actually handle that stress since we have 4-man squads surrounded by hundreds of Corpus, and Corpus use projectile weaponry. I get that some people are on potato PCs, and projectile physics might be too much for them, but given I'm still capable of running said corpus Sorties and Toroid farms on an i3 and i5 laptop without any real hardcore graphics chipset (granted, at minimum settings), I'd say Evolution is well-built enough and generous enough to previous generations it would make no difference. And even if it did, I'd argue that Warframe has been keeping its engine up with the times enough to warrant saying "it's time to get a better machine."