Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Best damage types for each faction?

Ne0nRunner

Question

I'm somewhat new to the game so I'm still figuring out how to maximize damage output for weapons. Which damage types would you recommend I use for each faction (Corpus, Grineer, Infested, Orokin)? And should I prioritize weapons/mods with high status chance?

17 answers to this question

Generally Grineer are the tankiest faction so people almost always build their damage specifically for dealing with them.

Grineer:

Typically you want to go Viral+Heat+Slash or Corrovie+Slash when fighting against Grineer. The most important thing to remember is Viral makes you hit harder and Slash bypasses Armor. Heat and Corrosive both reduce armor but Corrosive has bonus damage against armor.

Corpus:

Corpus are generally pretty squishy if you're using Toxin damage since it bypasses shields altogether. You can also go with Magnetic and Impact if you do not have access to Toxin.

Infested:

Infested enemies are very easy to kill with Viral+Heat combos. You don't need slash because they do not have armor mitigation like the Grineer do, so stack big damage numbers and use Viral multipliers (status proc).

Also, Infested units in Cambion Drift are immune to viral status procs so it is better to stack corrosive + heat IMO.

Sentient:

Sentient I try to go with corrosive + cold whenever possible to help negate armor issues. Stripping their damage reduction with void damage is important as well (operator or xaku's subsume ability).

Corrupted:

Corrupted are the most diverse faction and it is generally best to build like you're fighting Grineer since the corpus and infested units are much easier to kill.

As far as prioritization of weapons is concerned it is good to understand the role and importance of Sustain VS Burst DPS.