Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

New Player Asks: DE, Where Are You?

(NSW)0nuku

INTRO

I want to preface this by firstly saying I am a veteran by no definition. I picked this game up last September, MR9, just unlocked Sedna, only on my 250th login. This is all just opinions, bit of hearsay, and to be taken with a grain of salt. But I just gotta get it off my chest. Also, lots of reading. Feel free to skip to whatever relevant section you want.

Spoiler

I started this game because several friends recommended it to me. Free to play, tons of content, endless customization, fascinating story, and a great team behind it. I started up a new account on PC, then because my computer's not great, another one on Switch when it came out where I still play. I was intimidated by the huge system laid out before me, but I stuck with it because I trusted my friends. And I really wasn't disappointed once I got to the main story quests.

I hopped on the forums about that time because I found a couple bugs (it's a huge game, it's gonna happen, right?), and was told this was the best place to report them. I did, and if I even got a response it was typically "Yeah, I've seen this bug for months, DE's not gonna fix it." That didn't sound like the people I had been told about, the ones I started watching on their streams? 

PROBLEMS

Spoiler

As I read the forums more, I realized this game has some serious issues. And I'm not talking about a lack of "endgame" or even the multitude of bugs. Despite what I had been told, DE's not listening. And you know what, I really tried not to blame them. It's apparently a smaller studio, no EA, no Blizzard, who was surprised by the success of their pet project. Surely they had to love the community they had built, a community that gave them their success and their paychecks with no coaxing? It'd be fine if they weren't, as many studios nowadays don't, but to continue spreading the lies that they're here is just insulting.