Dante Unbound: Share Bug Reports and Feedback Here! ×

Nemesis System now Trademarked by Warner

lemonforest

What could this mean for Warframe? Has DE or Tencent entered into talks with WB about potential ramifications? How long until WB comes after the Lich System?

Steve left no illusion that it was heavily influenced by the Nemesis System. It's my understanding that's more than enough grounds for WB to choose to take legal action even if the patent was filled after DE implemented the Lich System since WB can prove that they were the exclusive creators but I'm no Patent Lawyer.

To be honest, it's really beyond me that an AI adaptive, enemy/character generation framework could be blanket patented but we do live in a world were eBay one click buy was trademarked forcing Amazon to do the "slide to instantly but" in the mobile app.

Sauce; https://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/esports/warner-bros-now-holds-trademark-to-nemesis-system-after-patent-e2-80-99s-approval/ar-BB1draGN

36 minutes ago, DoomFruit said:

Isn't pre-existing prior art an immediate invalidation of any patent?

Not by the original creator. A patent could historical be filed for any preexisting process/technology by any individual and awarded, causing grief for the original creator. In present times, they will almost always be denied but there are historical cases of early inventors getting the shaft that way.

It is about the trademark, which is The Nemesis System. WF has a system refered to as Kingpins which holds Kuva Liches and the upcoming "Queenpins", both also being different from eachother. There are also massive differences between The Nemesis System and what we have in WF. Borrowing ideas from something, even if trademarked and patented (though I highly doubt they actually got a patent on their system, since it isnt a technological advancements etc.), does not infringe the patented product.